With our scholarship numbers rising, we are looking for new assessors to join our panel. 

We have offered over 4,500 scholarships since 2009 in partnership with our generous education providers and funders for the not-for-profit community. These scholarships have supported building capabilities including leadership and management skills, technical skills and governance knowledge.

Our rigorous, independent selection process for our scholarship programs is equitable and merit-based.  Our community value and trust this independent process to select the most suitable recipients for all scholarships.

Each scholarship is allocated a volunteer assessment panel aligned with the eligibility criteria of the scholarship and includes not-for-profit, education and corporate sector leaders.

“Ensuring our selection process is rigorous and equitable is a vital part of what we do at Australian Scholarships Foundation. Our highly regarded independent assessors ensure
our process remains of a high quality.”

LOUISA GRAHAM, CEO, Australian Scholarships Foundation

Do you have the skills to help us?

Our assessors care about the longevity of Australia’s not-for-profit sector. They are often senior leaders and experienced in their field, with the ability to dedicate time to assessments on occasion. Assessors ideally (but not exclusively) have a background in tertiary education, NFP and/or the corporate sector, and an interest or involvement in community development.

The Australian Scholarships Foundation team support assessors with suitable training in support of the role and obtain relevant approvals for Privacy, Confidentiality, Code of Conduct, and Conflict of Interest Policies.

You can read more detail on the Pro Bono Assessor Position Description.

If you would like to join our panel please contact Mim Mills at [email protected].

Thank you to our panel

Our panel of highly regarded independent assessors help ensure the integrity of our program, we thank them for their ongoing support, they include:

  • Josephine Buontempo, Managing Director and Non-Executive Director, Kasali Migration Global; Non-Executive Director, Foundation Housing Ltd; Advisory Council Member, Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
  • Shirley Chowdhary Non-Executive Director, Australian Associated Press; Chair of the Advisory Board, Octadoc
  • Mike Evans, previous Vice President, Kaplan Higher Education
  • Melinda Muth, Board Member, Australian Scholarships Foundation, Facilitator, Faculty Advisor and Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors; Specialist advisor, Peakstone Global; Director, Harvard Club Australia Philanthropy; Managing Director, Streamwise Learning
  • Ricki Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Access Care Network Australia
  • James Toomey, former Chief Executive Officer, Mission Australia
  • Tricia Vilkinas, Adjunct Professor of Management, University of South Australia
  • Dean Williams, Chair, Affordable Housing Australia.

More information:
If you would like to volunteer for future assessment panels, please contact our team.

Read about our scholarship opportunities open now.